Cape Sands Ballroom Reviews

read reviews for Karen and Cape Sands Ballroom

Many thanks to all who have given a review for

Karen Shackleford and Cape Sands Ballroom.

To submit a review, please contact Karen.

Reviewed On 10/27/2019 by J R
"Having taken line dance lessons with Karen and being very happy and pleased with her patience and teaching skills, I invited my soon to be married son to join me for a couple of lessons for our mother/son dance. She prepared a lovely dance sequence for our music selection and taught us to dance like pros! Such fun!"

Reviewed On 10/26/2019 by J M I
"You will truly enjoy taking dance lessons with Karen! She is the most patient, kind and dedicated teacher that I have ever known. Karen takes a sincere interest in each of her students. She explains and demonstrates dance steps clearly and makes each lesson a fun experience. I recently attended three weddings. Two were for family members and one for the daughter of a close friend. In the past I would feel hesitant about joining others on the dance floor. After taking dance lessons with Karen I felt confident and enjoyed dancing at the receptions."

Reviewed On 10/25/2019 by T R
"I took her dance lessons and impressed with her dedication and ease when teaching."

Reviewed On 10/24/2019 by J B
"I have taken dance classes with Karen of Cape Sands Ballroom for several of her classes and it has been a great experience. She is so upbeat and patient with her students that it makes learning new dances very comfortable. The wedding I attended was in Florida last March, but I will keep up with dance classes as long as I can."

Reviewed On 10/17/2019 by R R
"My wife and I have taken several line dance classes with Karen and find her to be an Excellent teacher. She first demonstrates the dance for the class then breaks the dance down to segments and has the class go through each segment then finally combining the routines into the final dance. She is clear, patient and easy to follow through every step. It is an honor and real pleasure to know her and participate in her classes, she is the best."

 

Reviewed On 10/17/2019 by M K
"Before attending a wedding this month (10/13/2019), I took line dance lessons with Karen who owns Cape Sands Ballroom. What a patient, talented teacher! At the wedding, when the DJ played “The Cupid Shuffle”, I felt like I was the star of the dance floor! Karen Is the best!"

Reviewed On 10/16/2019 by M E
"Karen made preparing for our first dance fun and easy. She has a calm and gentle demeanor and is an excellent teacher. Due my husband's work schedule, we could squeeze in just two lessons before the big day. Despite this, Karen made the most of our time together and we felt comfortable and a even a little fancy on the dance floor. Highly recommended!"

Reviewed On 10/10/2019 by R E
"Karen provided dance lessons for my daughter's wedding in September 2019. We were VERY happy with the result! Karen is kind, very patient, and an EXCELLENT dance instructor! We couldn't have been happier with her instruction; and the bride and groom (and their parents!) looked great out on the floor!"

Reviewed On 10/04/2019 by K B
"With two fall family weddings in mind, I joined one of Karen’s line dance classes hoping to dust off my dancing shoes, gain some confidence and maybe even get some great dance moves. Under the dance instruction of Karen Shackleford of Cape Sands Ballroom, I got all that I hoped for and more. Karen is an excellent dance teacher. She is patient and kind and has an excellent way of breaking down dance steps into clear, understandable movements. She gives a lot of thought to the questions her students ask and will take as much time as we need to master any particular step or movement. I have had a lot of teachers throughout my life so it’s easy to spot a great one. Karen is a great teacher. I’ve learned a lot in a few months and I enjoyed myself so much I joined a second and then a third session of classes with her. I know that as mother of the groom on October 19th, I will be dancing at the reception with more confidence, grace and joy thanks to my lessons with Karen. I would highly recommend her to anyone hoping to improve their dancing and have fun doing it."

Reviewed On 8/26/2019 by S M
"I've worked with a lot of dance instructors over the years, and you can tell the ones who simply love to dance and love to help other people have fun dancing. Karen, the owner of Cape Sands, is top of my list as an instructor who makes everything fun, easy, and stress-free. You'll never feel rushed, self-conscious, or incompetent with Karen; you'll just have a good time learning something new at your own pace and level. She also has superb taste in music across many genres. I can't recommend Karen highly enough. If you're nervous at all, you'll be over it as soon as you meet her!"

Reviewed On 10/29/2018 by M C
"I didn’t think I could dance with my two left feet, but Karen has patiently convinced me otherwise. She explains each step clearly and in many ways to help everyone master each dance and we all do master them. We laugh a lot and enjoy every minute too!"

Reviewed On 10/28/2018 by S N
"Just about a year ago, I began taking Line Dance Lessons from Karen Shackleford of Cape Sands Ballroom. This is the best dance instructor I have ever had. Karen is patient with all of her students. She gives clear and concise instruction and has a calming effect on all. Currently, am in her group of dancers set to do performances in December and she has made all of the practices fun while learning new routines."

Reviewed On 10/28/2018 by G H
"Traveling to Alaska for a family wedding was an exciting but exhausting experience. Having six months of dance instruction with Karen gave me the stamina to keep up with all of the week long wedding festivities. Dancing on a mountaintop was a great way to celebrate the marriage of two awesome young people. I highly recommend Cape Sands Ballroom and Karen Shackleford if you are planning on attending a wedding in the next year."

Reviewed On 10/27/2018 by K T
"We worked with Karen for our first dance for our wedding: a waltz and rumba combination. We are older, but have minimal formal dance experience. Karen was phenomenal - a warm, professional instructor who is a true dance artist. She was very patient and made the whole experience wonderful and fun. We felt so accomplished and confident after each class. She helped us choose the perfect song for the waltz portion, and she choreographed our dance using just our basic vision of what we wanted. All of our wedding guests were in awe and we got a standing ovation! We continue to dance whenever we can and we have Karen to thank for giving us the confidence to do so!"

Reviewed On 10/25/2018 by H M
"I have thoroughly enjoyed taking line dancing lessons from Karen. She is an excellent teacher who cares for each of us individually. She constantly reviews the dances that we have mastered and challenges us with new dances. I have learned so much in a few short months."

Reviewed On 10/25/2018 by V B
"We are advanced beginner ballroom dancers. We had previously taken lessons from other instructors but Karen is the best. She has taught us new dances plus easily incorporated new moves into the dances we already knew. She is always kind, always encouraging, always ready and waiting, always happy to see us. We love her!"

Reviewed On 10/25/2018 by D P
"Karen is a wonderful dancer, but also a wonderful teacher. She is patient and sees where I need some extra instruction. Her disposition is very optimistic and naturally friendly. Giving her five stars was then easiest thing I have done all day. Thank you, Karen."

Reviewed On 10/19/2018 by J F
"Karen is a wonderful Instructor! She was able to teach a shy non-dancer how to dance and move on the dance floor with confidence and ease. She helped me overcome my fear of dancing in front of strangers. It was a special moment. She is so supportive and patient. She inspires all her students, and her dance classes are so much fun! Thank you, Karen."

Reviewed On 10/11/2018 by M A
"I have never been very coordinated and dancing was never my strong suit. However after taking classes with Karen I am much more confident to get out on the dance floor. In addition to being an excellent dancer, Karen has the ability to adjust her teaching style to each of her students. She also makes each class fun."

Reviewed On 8/29/2018 by C F
"What happens when 4 left feet darken Karen's door? She turns them into dancers! We had fun, came up with dance moves that spoke to our personalities, and know that Karen truly brought out the best in us. Thank you so much!"

Reviewed On 10/30/2017 by E J
"I've been taking dance lessons from Karen for a few months now (line dancing). I was never any good at dancing in a choreographed way - I felt uncoordinated at first, but thanks to Karen's easy-going instructions, I've transformed into a competent dancer.  And it's so much fun!"

Reviewed On 10/30/2017 by J L
"The dance lesson we had gave us the confidence on our wedding day to dance without worrying!!!"

Reviewed On 10/26/2017 by K D C
"Karen is an excellent dance instructor. Her directions are easy to follow. Our granddaughter is getting married next year and we feel Karen has us well prepared for our granddaughters "Dance till you drop wedding reception."
 

Reviewed On 10/26/2017 by L D
"I have attended dance classes with Karen of Cape Sands Ballroom. She is a great dance instructor. If you are looking for that special dance for your special dance, Karen is your best choice. She will put you at ease and you will be ready for your special moment on the dance floor."

Reviewed On 10/25/2017 by J I
"Karen is an excellent teacher! I thoroughly enjoy her classes and plan to continue taking them. My son was recently married and I felt more confident dancing at the reception."

Reviewed On 10/25/2017 by R O
"Have taken line dancing lessons from Karen. She is a great instructor and we had a lot of fun. Was a real value to us at recent wedding we attended. So much so that we continue taking lessons with her."

Reviewed On 10/24/2017 by S C
"Karen is the best instructor! At previous weddings, I would watch everyone do the electric slide, wishing I could join in on the fun. Now, thanks to Karen, I have the confidence to join in on any line dancing at weddings or any other function.  Karen is very patient, knows so many dance routines (waltz, salsa, rumba, tango, to name a few) and will go over the steps until the dancer feels comfortable. She makes learning how to dance so much fun!"

Reviewed On 10/23/2017 by L K
"This turned out to be an absolute gem! When it comes to music and dance, not everyone is comfortable with how they move. But to step into Karen’s class is to find yourself in a relaxed, welcoming space where laughter...and do-overs!...are joyfully encouraged.  Whether you want to learn a single dance for a special moment, or a few more for any event, Karen will teach you with warmth and patience galore. Many of us enjoy it so much, the classes remain even after the wedding becomes a beautiful memory."
 
Reviewed On 10/23/2017 by A T
"Absolutely wonderful dance instructor! We had so much fun and felt so prepared for our first dance. Thank you Karen!"

Reviewed On 10/22/2017 by D F
"Karen was awesome! She taught us everything from Swing dance to the Salsa! She helped us create an unforgettable first dance and bridal party intro!"